Week 2 Reflection

My thoughts on Week 2 of J2150:

Multimedia Presentation

During the lecture, Dr. Rice showed us the audio slideshow of a couple who gave birth to a child with a birth defect that caused its lifespan to be drastically shortened. The mixture of photos, audio, and video was emotionally compelling to the point where I felt like I was almost a captive audience, because I could not avert my gaze. It was extremely powerful, and it made me understand how well a multimedia project can truly convey a story more compellingly than any single medium could.

Photographic Techniques

Quite possibly the most interesting immediately applicable skill I learned was how to stabilize the camera without a tripod. My hands tend to shake pretty badly, so I thought photography was going to be a nightmare for me. Thankfully, Steve’s suggestion of tucking my non-shooting hand underneath my underarm while resting the camera on my shoulder really seemed to help me with that. This helps me a lot, and I am excited about that. The concept of the Rule of Thirds was intriguing as well, and that leads me to my next topic.

Photography as a Form of Art

I love art. I have an eye for it, but I never had the fine motor control to ever be a remotely decent painter or artist. With what we’ve learned about photographic composition, I’ve learned that photography is a pretty great for of art for those of us who have shaky hands. The Rule of Thirds is what really intrigued me the most. The idea of stepping outside of my comfort zone and putting the subject somewhere other than the center of the photograph was eye-opening, and it helped me a lot with my “Red” assignment. I just think it’s incredible that I can take people and objects, and make them part of something bigger. It’s a fun process, and I’m looking forward to really delving into it.

About Hank Koebler, IV

Hank Koebler, IV is a convergence journalism major who plans on pursuing a career in sportswriting. He has covered high school football in the Houston area for Houston Community Newspapers, and has been writing for Xtrapointfootball.com since April of 2010.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

